Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Grain, Grain, Oh Glorious Grain

Grains are generally divided into 2 subgroups, Whole Grains and Refined Grains. Whole grains contain the entire grain kernel while refined grains have been processed to remove the bran and germ. Grains are processed to give the grain a finer texture and improve their shelf life. However, the processing of the grain removes dietary fiber, iron, and vitamins that are extremely useful to our bodies. Ideally all of our daily grains would be whole grains however that may be somewhat difficult, so the USDA recommends that half of all the grains we eat should be whole grains.

The amount of grains you need depends on your age, gender and level of exercise. The links below may be beneficial in determining the number of servings needed by different individuals. There is also additional information about what counts as a serving of grain. Check out the links for more information about grain, grain, oh glorious grain.

Recommended Daily Grain Intake
Servings of Grain

No comments :

Post a Comment